Tanzania Country Facts

Summary of Tanzania Facts

Capital City: Dodoma
Total Area: 943,000 sq km.
Population: 33 million people (2005)
Languages : English and Swahili.
Religions: Christians 40% to 45%, Moslems 35% to 40%, traditional beliefs are also important.
Government: Republic.
Independence Date: 9th of December 1961.
Agriculture: Coffee, Tea, Cotton, sisal, cloves.
Climate: Tropical


Tanganyika became independent from the British protectorate on 9th December 1961. In 1964 the President Julius Nyerere signed the union of Tanganyika with Zanzibar in the new United Republic of Tanzania. The government followed the model of the African socialism until 1985. The first multiparty elections were held in 1995. Tanzania has always enjoyed peace and stability, though the economic growth has been stagnant. Tourism has become a significant industry for the country.


There are some regional climatic differences in the country. Generally, there are two rainy seasons, the “long rains” from March to June and the “short rains” from October to December. The warmest period is between December and March.

A country of biodiversity

Tanzania enjoys a very rich ecosystems, with the forests of the Eastern Mountains, Lake Tanganyika holding over 200 marine species, the coral reef ecosystems in the coast, the plains which are home to some of the Africa’s largest wildlife herds. Tanzania is well known for the large population of elephants and lions in Serengeti and Ngorongoro.